From Grief, Depression, or Illness to Positivity & Healing

October 8, 2009

Can a pet help with depression?

Filed under: My Rambling Thoughts....=D — by Sue @ 1:08 pm

Callie

When I was growing up my family had a dog, and I remember there was nothing quite like coming home after a bad day at school and being greeted by this shepherd/lab jumping up on you kissing you to death and giving you unconditional love. As I grew older and didn’t have a dog once I moved out on my own, I attributed my thoughts that there’s nothing like a pet to make you feel better to the fact that I was just a kid, what did I know?

Well…..fast forward at least 15 years……I was suffering through depression when I decided to go visit my family in Scotland in 2007. When I got back, as some of you know, my mum took ill and I had to fly back immediatly but she passed away. My depression at that point took a downward spiral, I didn’t think anything was going to lift me out of it. Well a year to the week of my mum’s death I finally got my wish, I got pregnant! I thought it was my mum’s final gift to me……

Sadly, that wasn’t the case as I lost the baby at 4 months in September 08. Again, here came the downward spiral. I knew there was absolutely nothing that would bring me back up out of it – and as I know everything (grin), I was just convinced it couldn’t happen.

Well I was proven wrong.

Friends of ours had 2 dogs and they had a litter. My hubby thought it would be nice to get one. I thought sure, why not, but it’s not going to cheer me up. Well I was wrong. We started seeing Callie from 3 days of age and when we finally took her home at 8 weeks old, not only were my spirits considerably higher, she was the light of my life. She has brought joy back into my life again. I know a lot of you are probably thinking, “whatever”, but believe me, if you haven’t had a pet, you can’t imagine the happiness they can share. If I’m having a bad day at work, or a depressing day, a quick cuddle with Callie and she makes me feel better…..it’s no wonder why they have pets in some hospitals for patients – they lift your spirits when you’re at your lowest.

And I now look back on my pregnancy loss as a blessing in disguise (and believe me, it took a long time to come to this conclusion), but if it hadn’t have been for the loss, then my body wouldn’t have gone nuts and made me extremely sick. I went to the doctor for it and got told I have celiac disease…..I’m now completely gluten free (for the most part as I am still learning), feel a whole lot better and am hoping that one day my body will be healthy enough to handle a baby. Until that time, I have my little ball of fur to make me happy – and believe me, she’s quite the handful……..xo

2 Comments »

  1. Various of guys blog about this subject but you wrote down really true words!

    Comment by Zelitrear — December 11, 2009 @ 11:08 pm |Reply

    • Thank you …… I just write from the heart….she truly has been a blessing to me, I don’t honestly know what I would have done without her this last year.

      Comment by Sue — December 12, 2009 @ 2:14 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

