From Grief, Depression, or Illness to Positivity & Healing

April 13, 2010

Please support me in the Fight to End Cancer

Filed under: My Rambling Thoughts....=D — by Sue @ 9:02 am

As a lot of you know, I lost my mum to cancer (see story below), along with other family members and friends. 1 in 9 women are affected by this terrible disease and even you men can get it! If you haven’t had breast cancer yourself, chances are you know someone that is affected by it.

I’m trying to do my part in helping find a cure for this terrible disease, so am once again gearing up my feet to fundraise to help find a cure. I will be participating in the CIBC Run for the Cure in Brampton on Sunday October 3rd. Cancer is hard…Walking, is not and if they can do cancer… I can certainly do something to try to help raise $ to find a cure. But, I cannot achieve my goal without your generous support.

The Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation CIBC Run for the Cure is Canada’s largest single day, volunteer-led fundraising event dedicated to raising funds for breast cancer research, and education awareness programs.

Each year, thousands of Canadians of all ages and from all walks of life unite to participate in the Run. Their reasons for participating vary, but they all have the same goal; to create a future without breast cancer.

Every step, every walk and every dollar you donate brings us closer to a cure, so please, help me support this. Please click on the link below to see my personal page and to donate, thank you!

http://www.runforthecure.com/site/TR/RunfortheCure/Ontario?px=1283731&pg=personal&fr_id=1097

If anyone would like to join my team, please do, the more the merrier! There is a link to do so on my personal page.

Thank you,

Love Sue

My mum’s story
I lost my mum on June 10, 2007. She had breast cancer 16 years ago, when I was 15 years old and had a mastectomy. She went through chemo then went into remission. My family moved to Scotland in October 1998 (with me staying here) and she found out in November 1999 that she had leukemia. They say that the type of chemotherapy she was on at the time for the breast cancer caused the leukemia. She was in hospital for 6 months and finally went into remission for that. In November 2006 she found out she had myelodysplasia (pre-leukemia). The doctors told her that any “cold” she gets she has to treat aggressively because she basically had no immune system. The doctors couldn’t figure out since she already had leukemia, what did this mean? She was going to the hospital once a month to get a pint of blood transfused into her. I went to Scotland May 26th for a week to visit them and she had a bit of a cough. She went to the doctors on Monday the 28th and they gave her antibiotics, saying if the fever she had got any worse, to go to the hospital. She went to the hospital on May 30th and was told she’d be in for a couple of days to get iv antibiotics. I flew back home on the Sunday, with her still being in the hospital. I got a call on the Wednesday that she’d taken a turn for the worse and there was nothing more they could do except keep her comfortable. My sister told her that I was flying back out. The doctors told my family on the Thursday morning it was only a matter of hours as she’d slipped into a coma. I flew out on the Friday night (it was the quickest flight I could get) and I got there Saturday afternoon. She passed away Sunday June 10th @ 1:47am with me there holding her hand. the doctors believe the only reason she fought was cause she knew I was coming and I would want to say goodbye.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

